Proof…… The Photographers on Photography

Recently, one of my mentors from the United States Navy posted this on her Facebook. Chief Jennifer Villalovos was one of the first female photographers I met at U.S. Navy Fleet Combat Camera Pacific (FLTCOMCAMPAC). I was in the reserve unit training with active duty, so that I could learn more about being a combat photojournalist. I learned more in those three years from handful of mentors than I did in my years of college.

This video speaks about the labor of love in the field of photography. The video interviews 44 photographers coming through the headquarters of National Geographic.  They talk about how they found photography and never left it. Much like me, I picked up my first camera at the age of 16, but didn’t take my first real class until my first year of college. From then on, I never let go of my camera.  I knew I wanted to do something with photography, but didn’t know what. It wasn’t until I joined the Navy, that I realized, I was born to document, capture and show the emotion of people’s lives through the click of my shutter.

The words of these 44 photographers makes  you feel like you are traveling to endless worlds without ever-moving an inch. ” From my interviewer’s chair, it felt like traveling to endless worlds without ever-moving an inch. These were not your typical interviews; they were shop talk conversations that didn’t seem to start or end in that room. We recently premiered this first installment, comprised of excerpts, at the international photography festival Visa Pour l’Image in Perpignan, France. Consider this a sneak peek of each resulting individual video portrait that is to come.” – Pamela Chen

Watch the Video. Its amazing.

24-up-medium

http://proof.nationalgeographic.com/2013/09/15/the-photographers-on-photography/

Watch the video first. Then play the video without looking and LISTEN.. this is what I heard.

POWER… PERSPECTIVE…. INTENSE…. CAN’T EXIST ALONE…. STOP TIME FOR A MOMENT… GREAT PHOTOS TAKE TIME, PATIENCE, AND SUPPORT…. ONE RIGHT WAY OF LIVINGCOMPLEXITY AND BEAUTY... OVERWHELMING URGENCY TO SHARE… UNIVERSAL LANGUAGE… WHAT YOU DO WITH IT… ENGAGE… HAVE TO CARE.. HAVE TO CARE… HAVE TO CARE… ONE MORE.. JUST ONE MORE… ONE MORE AND THEN ILL BE DONE.. BUT YOURE NOT…  YOU CAN SEND US ANY PLACE ON EARTH, WELL GET THE JOB DONE…. STILL FRAME… PROOF… PULL IN THE READER… PASSPORT TO PEOPLES LIVES… TO PHOTOGRAPHY… WE WILL GO TO THE ENDS OF THE WORLD AND THEN UNDERWATER.. ADDICTION… ITS AN ADDICTION… ADDICTION …REALLY MORE … OPEN YOUR MIND… CHANGER YOUR LIFE… CONNECT TO THE WORLD… PEOPLE CARE…. UNDERSTAND… ONE MORE… JUST ONE MORE…. YOU PHOTOGRAPH TO UNDERSTAND… TO LEARN ABOUT THE WORLD… TO LEARN ABOUT YOURSELF...

ENJOY AND PASS ALONG.

Leave a Reply

